top of page
marquette university 4.jpg

O'Brien Hall, Marquette University

Excellence in Masonry

The Wisconsin Masonry Alliance (WMA) is dedicated to the promotion and advancement of masonry construction through the dissemination of technology, practice, products, and design. A highlight of our promotional efforts is the Excellence in Masonry Awards presented in recognition of masonry projects exemplifying great design, inspiring material usage, and quality construction.

2024 Excellence in Masonry Project Winners


Best of Show & Excellence in Clay Masonry

O'Brien Hall - Marquette University

Milwaukee, WI

General Contractor:  J.H. Findorff & Son

Masonry Contractor:  KMI Construction LLC

Designer:  Matthew Kella & John Collier - BNIM

WMA Producer/Supplier:  County Materials Corp. & SPEC MIX


Dennis Wilichowski Craftsmanship Award

Craftsman House Residence

Chenequa, WI

General Contractor:  Northgreen Builders

Masonry Contractor:  Dale Anderson Masonry

Architect:  Deep River Partners

WMA Producer/Supplier:  Halquist Stone


Excellence in Concrete Masonry

ProHealth Care

Waukesha, WI

General & Masonry Contractor:  JP Cullen

Designer:  Eppstein Uhen Architects

WMA Producer/Supplier:  Northfield Block & SPEC MIX


Excellence in Natural Stone Masonry

Camp Vista Chapel

Campbellsport, WI

General & Masonry Contractor:  C.D. Smith Construction

Designer:  Excel Engineering

Producer/Suppler:  Oakfield Stone, County Materials Corp., & SPEC MIX


Excellence in Residential Masonry

Rocky Shore Residence

Madison, WI

General Contractor:  Feldt Construction

Masonry Contractor:  Esser Masonry

Designer:  Destree Design Architects, Inc.

WMA Producer/Supplier:  Madison Block and Stone





A special THANKS to this year's judging panel:
  • Jason Hale, AIA - Boldt Technical Services

  • Aaron Ebent, AIA - Kahler Slater

  • Ryan Burke - HSR Associates

  • Karl Grehn, AIA - RINKA

  • Eric Kom, AIA - Method and Theme

Background & Entry Process


Winning projects will be exhibited and awards will be presented at the Annual Excellence in Masonry Breakfast at the AIA-Wisconsin Convention for the following commercial, residential, public, and industrial categories:

  • Best of Show in Excellence in Masonry Award Program – Project exemplifying masonry at its finest.

  • Excellence in Concrete Masonry – Deemed best project utilizing concrete masonry.

  • Excellence in Clay Masonry - Deemed best  project utilizing clay masonry.

  • Excellence in Natural Stone – Deemed best project utilizing natural stone masonry.

Special Award Categories:

  • Dennis Wilichowski Craftsmanship Award - Excellence in overall aesthetic and craftsmanship of masonry.

  • E2 Award – Masonry project purposed for energy & environmental preservation.

  • Restoration - Exemplary masonry utilization in a restoration showing before and after.

  • Residential - Deemed best masonry project for residential projects.


Any individual involved in the design, supply or construction of a masonry building may participate and enter a project. Entries must adhere to the following:

  1. Recommended: A minimum of 50% of the project’s exterior must consist of masonry. The exterior masonry requirement may be reduced to 25%, if interior applications feature 50% exposed masonry.

  2. The project must be constructed in Wisconsin utilizing masonry products produced or supplied by a Wisconsin Masonry Alliance member.

  3. The project’s occupancy date must be no longer than three (3) years from the date of submission.

  4. Any project that has previously won a Wisconsin Masonry Alliance award may not be re[1]entered.



All entries will be judged on: 1. Design creativity – uniqueness of project. 2. Visual impact and acceptance – impression, relationship to site, pedestrian connection. 3. Inspiring material usage – details, features, or solutional elements. 4. Masonry utilization – the material’s relationship in establishing the character and fulfilling the function of the structure.

bottom of page